The Times reports that everyone’s favourite plucky Welsh battlers Cardiff City could be off to Europe after all. As it stands, if Cardiff beat Portsmouth in the FA Cup final they would be robbed of the (dubious) joys of the UEFA Cup because they are technically a Welsh team, and only qualify for Europe through “competitions run by the FA of Wales”. It appears that the FA are sensitive to Cardiff’s unique situation though, with an FA spokesman saying:
“We have not ruled out Cardiff being entered into Europe via the FA Cup should they win it.
“Further conversations need to take place, but we would expect to have clarification before the final.”
With the FA promising to bring up Cardiff’s case during the next top level meeting, the potential horror situation of the FA Cup winners being forbidden entry into the UEFA cup looks to be receding.