Get the CaughtOffside iPad app. Download the #1 Free Sports App from the App Store.
All of the latest footie news and much, much more.
Don’t worry France fans the Barcelona man will only receive meaningless fine or a strongly worded letter of disapproval.
France and Barcelona star Thierry Henry faces Fifa’s disciplinary committee on Monday over his controversial handball against the Republic of Ireland.
The executive committee of football’s world governing body referred the striker’s case to disciplinary chiefs.
Henry handled the ball twice in the build-up to the extra-time goal from William Gallas that meant the Republic did not qualify for the 2010 World Cup.
Fifa rejected the Republic’s request to have the match replayed.
Fifa president Sepp Blatter has said former Arsenal player Henry was guilty of “blatant unfair playing” but stopped short of calling for him to be punished.
It seems likely that Henry will escape with a warning or a fine rather than a ban that would rule him out of one or more World Cup matches in South Africa this summer.
Under current Fifa rules, the disciplinary committee is only entitled to impose sanctions following the illegal use of a hand to prevent a goal being scored. (BBC Sport)
So there you have it. FIFA only appears to have the ability to issue a strongly worded letter to Thierry Henry despite President Sepp Blatter stating that the Frenchman had blatantly cheated. So what’s the point? Now clearly Ireland were never going to get their game against France replayed, that was just a pointless pipe dream, but you would have thought that the Barcelona star would have been given some sort of match ban at the very least.
We are talking about a player deliberately cheating in order to see his side win through in an incredibly crucial match and yet FIFA is unable to impose any significant punishment? Just how impotent is the governing body?