Menu

Chelsea to have their cake and eat it! Red card reversed and no action taken on defender

The Blues had every right to feel aggrieved when Frank Lampard saw red at Anfield on Sunday, although this ‘Exclusive’ from a British tabloid will make them feel happier. But has the referee made the right decisions and have the FA been intimidated by Chelsea?

The Daily Mail report that Mike Riley has admitted he made a ‘horrible mistake’ in sending off the England midfielder early in the second half of the match. Lamps had his studs showing, something that must have persuaded the ref that it was a dangerous challenge, so it looks like Chelsea’s best player will be back straight away. However, it’s slightly puzzling that no further action is set to be taken on another Blues player who went straight into the back of Yossi Benayoun – quite literally!

Frank Lampard will see his three-match ban wiped out by the FA today after referee Mike Riley admitted he made a horrible mistake on Sunday at Anfield.

Lampard’s red card in the 2-0 defeat to Liverpool will be overturned by an FA disciplinary commission after Riley accepted his error.

But, amazingly, Chelsea team-mate Jose Bosingwa looks set to escape punishment for his wild kick on Yossi Benayoun.

Expect a certain Mr A Ferguson to have something to say about a perceived bias on the part of the FA towards Chelsea. After all, the FA have the power to retroactively discipline any player who commits a significant foul on an opponent that goes unpunished. Have the FA thrown the Blues a lifeline or just made the correct decisions in this instance? Are Liverpool fans incensed that the book isn’t going to be thrown at Bosingwa?

More Stories Chelsea FC Frank Lampard jose bosingwa Liverpool FC