Germany Midfielder Asked Referee ‘Is This The World Cup Final?’ After Blow To The Head

Posted by

The ref reveals the point that Kramer had to be taken off.

There was one surprise inclusion for Germany for the 2014 World Cup final on Sunday as Borussia Monchengladbach midfielder Christoph Kramer replaced Sami Khedira – who was injured in the warm-up.

However, after a positive start the 23-year-old suffered an injury of his own after a heavy clash with Argentina defender Ezequiel Garay, with the concussion suffered eventually forcing the German off.

Kramer has since admitted that he doesn’t remember much from the game at the Maracana Stadium due to the blow to his head.

“I can’t really remember much of the game,” the Gladbach star told Die Welt.

“I don’t know anything at all about the first half. I thought later that I left the game immediately after the tackle.

“I have no idea how I got to the changing rooms. I don’t know anything else. In my head, the game starts from the second half.”

Yet Kramer didn’t leave the pitch immediately after the clash and to much criticism was allowed to play on for a short while, before Italian referee Nicola Rizzoli realised the time had come for a substitution.

“Shortly after the clash between Garay and Kramer he came to me and asked if this was the World Cup final,” Rizzoli told Gazzetta dello Sport, who thought the question was a joke at first.

“I went to [Bastian] Schweinsteiger and instructed him to have Kramer replaced.”

In the end the Germans ran out 1-0 winners thanks to a goal from Mario Gotze in extra-time, winning the tournament for the fourth time in their history.

SEE ALSO: Most expensive Premier League transfers ever.

More Stories Borussia Monchengladbach Germany football