Asian Cup 2015: Ange Postecoglou Names Provisional Socceroos Squad, No Room For Feyenoord Star Luke Wilkshire

Posted by

Postecoglou has selected his provisional squad for the January tournament to be held on home soil.

Ange Postecoglou has named a 46-man provisional squad for the upcoming Asian Cup.

Cricket World Cup: We rate the 10 best batsman in ICC World Cup history
Australia v India cricket: Merv Hughes calls for early bouncers despite Phillip Hughes’s death
We rate the top 10 bowlers in cricket World Cup history

The squad will be cut down to 23 players by December 30 in preparation for the tournament, which begins on January 9.

“I’m happy with the depth of squad we have been able to name and it is now up to these 46 guys to ensure they are selected in the final squad for the Asian Cup and rise to the challenge ahead,” Postecoglou is quoted as saying by ABC.

“We have set about trying to broaden the depth of players and I’m happy with how that has transpired over the last five matches since the World Cup.

“We have a good group of players to choose from for what will be an exciting time for Australian football.”

The squad includes all 23 players from the 2014 FIFA World Cup, as well as Robbie Kruse, Josh Kennedy and Rhys Williams, who missed the tournament through injury.

Feyenoord right-back Luke Wilkshire missed the cut, although Postecoglou says a recent hamstring injury did not help his cause.


Mustafa Amini (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Terry Antonis (Sydney FC/AUS), Aziz Behich (Bursaspor/TUR), Oliver Bozanic (FC Luzern/SUI), Luke Brattan (Brisbane Roar/AUS), Mark Bresciano (AL Gharafa/QAT), Joshua Brillante (ACF Fiorentina/ITA), Nathan Burns (Wellington Phoenix/NZ), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls/USA), Jason Davidson (West Bromwich Albion/ENG), Daniel de Silva (Perth Glory/AUS), Adam Federici (gk) (Reading/ENG), Ivan Franjic (Torpedo Moscow/RUS), Eugene Galekovic (gk) (Adelaide United/AUS), Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf/GER), Chris Herd (Aston Villa/ENG), James Holland (Austria Wien/AUT), Bernie Ibini (Sydney FC/AUS), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palacer/ENG), Brad Jones (gk) (Liverpool/ENG), Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers/AUS), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus/JPN), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen/GER), Mitchell Langerak (gk) (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt/GER), Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town/ENG), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng/CHN), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar/AUS), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory/AUS), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City/AUS), Mitch Nichols (Perth Glory/AUS), Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht/NED), Josh Risdon (Perth Glory/AUS), Nikita Rukavytsya (Western Sydney Wanderers/AUS), Mat Ryan (gk) (Club Brugge/BEL), Trent Sainsbury (PEC Zwolle/NED), Brad Smith (Liverpool/ENG), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers/AUS), Adam Taggart (Fulham/ENG), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western Sydney Wanderers/AUS), James Troisi (Zulte Waregem/BEL), Carl Valeri (Melbourne Victory/AUS), Dario Vidosic (FC Sion/SUI), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Hyundai/KOR), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough/ENG), Bailey Wright (Preston North End/ENG).

More Stories Australia football