Top 10 Most Expensive Teams In The Copa Libertadores

Posted by

The Brazilian consulting firm Pluri have prepared a list with the values of each of the 38 teams participating in the flagship competition.

The Copa Libertadores 2015 has already started, with the Round 1 playoffs concluding this week.

Next week the 32 teams that seek to win the most desired trophy in the Americas will be decided and the group stage will begin.

The Brazilian consulting firm Pluri have published a ranking of the most expensive teams in advance of the group stages kicking off.

Aaron Ramsey To Miss Arsenal’s Crucial Champions League Tie But Better News For Alexis Sanchez
(Video) Watch Thierry Henry Score 228th & Last Arsenal Goal On This Day In 2012
(Video) Brooklyn Beckham Hits Ace Shot In Arsenal Training, Looks Eerily Similar To Dad David

The firm took statistics based on the 38 teams currently in the competition, including those who are fighting in the playoffs. The total amount was based on the market value of each squad.

Among the top 10, there are five Brazilian teams, four Argentinians and one Mexican team. The teams in the 2015 tournament have an estimated combined value of £1.3 billion, 5 percent less expensive than in 2014 and 21 percent less than in 2013.

Brazil is the country with the highest average per team, averaging £80 million amongst six clubs. Argentina is second with £55 million and then Mexico third with £44 million.

The most expensive team in the Copa Libertadores is Cruzeiro, which has a market value of £98 million, followed by Sao Paulo (£83 million) and Atletico Mineiro (£76 million).

Corinthians (£67 million) holds the fourth place and fifth place is the Mexican club Tigres with £64 million. River Plate is the most expensive team of Argentina with a value of £58 million. The seventh place is held by Internacional (£55 million); 8th, Boca Juniors (£52 million), 9th, San Lorenzo (£49 million) and 10th is Racing Club with £39 million.

More Stories Atletico Mineiro Boca Juniors Corinthians Cruzeiro Internacional Racing Club River Plate San Lorenzo Sao Paulo Tigres UANL