Menu

(Images) USA vs Mexico friendly will go ahead – but the pitch is awful

After some doubt earlier in the day, it now appears as though the friendly between the United States and Mexico will go ahead.

SEE MORE
USA name 22-man squad for Mexico friendly
USA vs Mexico friendly in danger of being cancelled over state of the pitch
(Tweet) Mexico confirm starting eleven for friendly against the USA

The groundskeepers have been working hard to get the pitch to a playable level after the Mexican squad was forced to move their training to a local university earlier this morning.
Now the USA side have been training on the Alamodome field in San Antonio, and pictures have started emerging of the playing surface which as caused so much controversy. The Americans have played down the state of the pitch, but the images tell a different story.

Mexico have already named their starting eleven, while the US are expected to announce theirs tomorrow morning.

The game will kick-off at 6:30pm PDT / 9:30pm EDT / 2:30am BST.

You can see some of the images of the controversial ground from the Tweets and images below:

More Stories Mexico United States