PFA Team of the Year: Leicester & Tottenham share 8 of 11 players with Mesut Ozil headline snub

Posted by

The PFA Team of the Year has been announced, with Premier League title contenders Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur responsible for eight of the 11 players voted in by their peers.

The division’s top two scorers, Harry Kane and Jamie Vardy, are paired up front, and there is another Leicester-Tottenham partnership in defence with Wes Morgan and Toby Alderweireld.

Leicester’s PFA Player of the Year nominees Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante are recognised in midfield alongside 20-year-old Dele Alli, whose Spurs teammate Danny Rose makes it at left-back.

Rose is arguably the most surprising inclusion in this year’s XI, but not as big a surprise as the omission of Arsenal star Mesut Ozil, who leads the Premier League’s assist charts with 18 this term.

West Ham United playmaker Dimitri Payet, nine goals and nine assists, is preferred to the World Cup winner, but there is Arsenal representation in the form of young right-back Hector Bellerin.

Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea completes the lineup – an indication again that the Spanish stopper has been the shining light behind another disappointing season at Old Trafford.

Here is the team in full. What are your thoughts? Tweet @JoeFish08 with your opinions!

Video: Tottenham defender Jan Vertonghen is a complete whimp in SpursTV challenge!
Tottenham begin work on deal for ex-Chelsea star who ticks a lot of boxes
Roy Hodgson defends Leicester City striker Jamie Vardy over dive & sweary referee rant

More Stories Danny Rose David de Gea Dele Alli Dimitri Payet Harry Kane Hector Bellerin Jamie Vardy Mesut Ozil N'Golo Kante Riyad Mahrez Toby Alderweireld Wes Morgan