The 2015-16 PFA Player of the Year is Leicester City star….

Posted by

Riyad Mahrez.

The Leicester City attacking midfielder beat out teammates Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante, as well as Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane, West Ham ace Dimitri Payet and Arsenal attacker Mesut Ozil to claim the 2015-16 Professional Footballers Association player of the year award.

The 25-year-old Algerian had a remarkable breakout season for the Foxes this season, scoring 17 goals and adding 11 assists through the first 35 games – all career highs – as Leicester City rose to the top of the table.

Prior to signing with the Foxes in the middle of the 2013-14 season, Mahrez played for Ligue 2 outfit Le Havre, and played in the French football fourth division until the end of the 2012-13 season.

Mahrez becomes the first Leicester City player, first Algerian and the first African to win the award since its inception in the 1973-74 season – and only the second non-European player to win the award since Luis Suarez in the 2013-14 season.

Spurs midfielder Dele Alli was named the PFA Young Player of the Year.

Chelsea star hints at Juventus transfer on Instagram
Liverpool hoping for chance to swap £16m flop for Lazio star
Thierry Henry coming back? Arsenal legend wants to play for genius BPL manager

More Stories Riyad Mahrez