Old Player of the Year: Defoe, Captain Morgan and Man City defender among elderly nominees

Posted by

Tottenham Hotspur starlet Dele Alli was named PFA Young Player of the Year on Sunday night, as the award went to White Hart Lane for the fourth time in the past five seasons.

Alli has been one of many stand-out youngsters in the Premier League this term, but what about the old blokes?

Shamefully, those mean folk at the Professional Footballers’ Association don’t have an award for the elderly, so we reckon it is our responsibility to honour them.

Our rules stipulate that in order to qualify as old, outfield players must be at least 32 years old, while the minimum age for goalkeepers is 35.

Let’s meet the nominees for Old Player of the Year:

A) Jermain Defoe – Sunderland

The Black Cats would be down and out by now were it not for the former Tottenham striker, who – at the age of 33 – is having his second-best ever Premier League season in terms of goals, having hit the net 13 times so far.

B) Wes Morgan – Leicester City

The Foxes captain laughs in the face of ball-playing centre-backs. Morgan, 32, and his no-nonsense brand of defending have helped Leicester to the top of the table, keeping 15 clean sheets along the way.

C) Jose Fonte – Southampton

Losing Toby Alderweireld last summer was a big blow for the Saints, but they will be thankful that they managed to keep his CB partner, Fonte. The 32-year-old has only missed one game this season, which is a major reason why Southampton’s defensive record this term is only bettered by the Prem’s top five.

D) Bacary Sagna – Man City

After a forgettable first season at City, following his free transfer from Arsenal, Sagna has been one of City’s best defenders. At 33, the French right-back has shown that he still has plenty to offer, keeping Pablo Zabaleta on the sidelines.

FYI, 35-year-old Watford goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes narrowly missed out on a nomination. Soz.

SEE ALSO: Eden Hazard’s anti-Spurs comments are farcical and borderline hypocritical

More Stories Bacary Sagna Jermain Defoe Jose Fonte Wes Morgan