Jamie Vardy scoops FWA Player of the Year award on what could be Leicester City’s title D-Day

Posted by

Leicester City striker Jamie Vardy has won the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year award.

The 29-year-old has scored 22 goals to inspire Leicester’s unlikely Premier League title challenge, and bagged in 11 games in a row to break Ruud van Nistelrooy’s record for goals in successive matches.

He is the second top scorer in the division and has made himself a certainty to go to Euro 2016 with England this summer, only four years after playing non-league football for Fleetwood Town.

Last week, his Foxes colleague Riyad Mahrez was named PFA Player of the Year, and Vardy beat off competition from six of his teammate,  and the likes of Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane.

SEE MORE: The 2015-16 PFA Player of the Year is Leicester City star…

Vardy received 36% of the vote from the 290 journalists polled, a clear winner ahead of Mahrez and Kante. Danny Drinkwater, Wes Morgan, Kasper Schmeichel and Danny Simpson were also recognised.

Manchester City pair Kevin de Bruyne and Sergio Aguero, West Ham United playmaker Dimitri Payet and Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli were other players to have been shortlisted by the voters.

There could be double reason for Vardy to celebrate this evening. Defeat for Tottenham to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge would secure the fairytale title triumph for Claudio Ranieri’s underdogs.

Chelsea winger Eden Hazard was the winner of last year’s FWA Player of the Year award.

OPINION: Why can’t Leicester City become a Premier League giant?
Leicester already planning summer reinforcements as international powerhouse is lined up
PFA Team of the Year: Leicester & Tottenham share 8 of 11 players with Mesut Ozil headline snub

More Stories Harry Kane Jamie Vardy N'Golo Kante Riyad Mahrez