Euro 2016 quarter-finals: Four players banned from next stage, including PFA Team of the Year member

Posted by

The Euro 2016 quarter-finals are slated to begin in just a few days but for four players they will not be allowed to represent their respective countries in the final eight.

According to Squawka News, four players are scheduled to miss the upcoming quarter-finals: Sevilla defender Adil Rami (France), Leicester City midfielder N’Golo Kante (France), Barcelona defender Thomas Vermaelen (Belgium) and Paris Saint-Germain midfielder Thiago Motta (Italy).

Kante was a key member of Leicester City’s Premier League title win this past season, earning PFA Team of the Year honours in his first year with the club.

Vermaelen made just 13 appearances for Barcelona this past year but has been featured in all of Belgium’s matches. Belgium face Wales on July 1st.

Motta has been used primarily as a sub for Italy in Euro 2016 but made 45 appearances for PSG this past year. Italy face Germany on July 2nd.

Rami was a member of Sevilla’s UEFA Europa League title-winning lineup against Liverpool, and has played all 360 minutes for France in Euro 2016. France take on Iceland in the final match of the quarter-finals on July 3rd.

Follow @jtmlovessports on Twitter

England Euro 2016 player ratings: Two 8/10s & three 2/10s – Spurs & Man City stars at either extreme
Video: Arsenal star leads wild Wales celebrations as England humiliated at Euro 2016
Video: Steve McClaren with hilarious punditry gaffe while watching England crash out of Euro 2016

More Stories Adil Rami N'Golo Kante Thiago Motta Thomas Vermaelen