Man Utd Europa League squad: 10 midfielders named, but Bastian Schweinsteiger may as well bin passport

Posted by

Manchester United have named a 27-man squad for this season’s Europa League.

Red Devils manager Jose Mourinho is expected to use the competition to give first-team opportunities to players who have found Premier League opportunities hard to come by.

However, Bastian Schweinsteiger has been omitted from Mourinho’s European squad despite not playing a minute of Premier League football so far this campaign.

Schweinsteiger’s only appearance this season came at international level as he earned his 121st senior Germany cap in a 2-0 friendly win over Finland.

That was Schweinsteiger’s final game for Germany after he decided to retire from the international scene.

So, with international football no longer on the agenda and having been ruled out of European games for United, Schweinsteiger may as well chuck his passport in the bin for now!

Ten midfielders were named in United’s Euro party of 27, while just four strikers made the cut.

Most expensive Arsenal signings ever: Lucas 6th, Mustafi 2nd
Chelsea FC wages: Eden Hazard on 4x more than John Terry
Lucas Perez squad number: Arsenal new boy takes tainted no.9 while Mustafi is given far less prestigious jersey

Man Utd Europa League squad:

David de Gea, Sergio Romero, Sam Johnstone

Eric Bailly, Phil Jones, Marcus Rojo, Daley Blind, Chris Smalling, Luke Shaw, Timothy Fosu-Mensah, Antonio Valencia, Matteo Darmian, Axel Tuanzebe

Paul Pogba, Juan Mata, Jesse Lingard, Michael Carrick, Ashley Young, Ander Herrera, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Marouane Fellaini, Morgan Schneiderlin, Memphis Depay

Wayne Rooney, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Anthony Martial, Marcus Rashford

More Stories Ander Herrera Anthony Martial Antonio Valencia Ashley Young Axel Tuanzebe Bastian Schweinsteiger Chris Smalling Daley Blind David de Gea Eric Bailly Henrikh Mkhitaryan Jesse Lingard Jose Mourinho Juan Mata Luke Shaw Marcus Rashford Marouane Fellaini Matteo Darmian Memphis Depay Michael Carrick morgan schneiderlin Paul Pogba Phil Jones Sam Johnstone Sergio Romero Timothy Fosu Mensah Wayne Rooney Zlatan Ibrahimovic