Everton signing Jordan Pickford shakes up world’s most expensive goalkeepers list: Man U & Arsenal stars move down top 10

Posted by

Pickford is only the 12th goalkeeper to command a seven-figure transfer fee.

Everton have broken their transfer record to sign England goalkeeper Jordan Pickford from Sunderland.

According to The Guardian, Pickford will cost Everton an initial transfer fee of £25m, but that figure could eventually rise to £30m.

Regardless of whether he costs £25m or £30m, Pickford is now the world’s third most expensive goalkeeper of all time.

And based on information reported by The Mirror, the 23-year-old is only the 12th goalkeeper to ever command a transfer fee of £10m or above.

Using the fees as reported by The Mirror, we have drawn up a current list of the top ten most expensive goalkeepers ever.

As you will see, Pickford has leapfrogged ahead of German legend Manuel Neuer, while pushing Manchester United no.1 David de Gea back into fifth and Arsenal’s Petr Cech down to 10th.

10. Petr Cech: £10.9m – Chelsea to Arsenal, 2015

Petr Cech

9. Jan Oblak: £12.6m – Benfica to Atletico Madrid, 2014

Jan Oblak Atletico Madrid

8. Jasper Cillessen: £12.8m – Ajax to Barcelona, 2016

Jasper Cillessen Louis van Gaal

7. Angelo Peruzzi: £15.7m – Inter Milan to Lazio, 2000

Angelo Peruzzi - Lazio

6. Claudio Bravo: £17m – Barcelona to Manchester City, 2016

claudio bravo

5. David de Gea: £18m – Atletico Madrid to Manchester United, 2011

De Gea

4. Manuel Neuer: £19m – Schalke to Bayern Munich, 2011

Manuel Neuer Germany

3. Jordan Pickford: £25m-£30m – Sunderland to Everton, 2017


2. Gianluigi Buffon: £33m – Parma to Juventus, 2001

Gianluigi Buffon

1. Ederson: £34.7m – Benfica to Manchester City, 2017

The two seven-figure stoppers who narrowly missed out on the top 10 are Bournemouth new-boy Asmir Begovic and Southampton’s Fraser Forster, who each cost £10m when they moved from Chelsea and Celtic respectively.

More Stories angelo peruzzi asmir begovic Claudio Bravo David de Gea Ederson Fraser Forster Gianluigi Buffon Jan Oblak Jasper Cillessen Jordan Pickford manuel neuer Petr Cech