FIFA to pay Chelsea and Tottenham more than £3m in World Cup compensation as Real Madrid and Barca bank combined £7m

Posted by

FIFA will pay clubs in the Premier League more than £30m in compensation this summer.

A report by The Mirror, using data from Berlin-based communications specialists Tonka, has revealed that world football’s governing body will give out £6,460 per day for any player released to play at Russia 2018.

As a result, English sides Manchester City, Chelsea and Tottenham will all be due more than £3m each, while Real Madrid and Barcelona stand to receive £7m between them.

Tottenham have nine players still involved as the World Cup reaches its final weekend.

Maurizio Sarri reveals his Chelsea start date after signing
Ropey Tottenham XI that could start PL opener at Newcastle
Super slo-mo video shows Harry Kane did not miss sitter vs Croatia
Real Madrid ace offers to give Eden Hazard his squad number

Hugo Lloris is set to captain France in Sunday’s final against Croatia, after England face Belgium in something of a N17 derby. England have five Spurs players in their squad – in Kieran Trippier, Danny Rose, Eric Dier, Dele Alli and Harry Kane. Meanwhile, Belgium’s 23-man party features Spurs trio Jan Vertonghen, Toby Alderweireld and Mousa Dembele.

Chelsea will also be represented in both games. N’Golo Kante and Olivier Giroud are likely starters for France, while Thibaut Courtois and Eden Hazard are two of Beligum’s main men. Gary Cahill is in the England squad as well.

Barcelona and Real Madrid are famous rivals but two of their star midfielders will be Croatia team-mates when Ivan Rakitic and Luka Modric attempt to get the better of France, who also have representation from both sides of the Clasico divide. Barca duo Ousmane Dembele and Samuel Umtiti are France team-mates, while Real defender Raphael Varane is also a key man.

Top 10 teams in terms of overall World Cup representation and therefore FIFA compensation

1. Manchester City £3.9m
2. Real Madrid £3.8m
3. Chelsea 3.5m
4. Tottenham £3.4m
5. Barcelona £3.2m
6. PSG £3.2m
7. Manchester United £3.0m
8. Monaco £2.7m
9. Atletico Madrid £2.4m
10. Juventus £2.2m