We occasionally get treated to an indirect free kick in the box where it gives someone the chance to smash a ball at terrified opposition players, but you rarely see them outside the box.
This free kick from the Cagliari game tonight is a real shame as it’s one of the best you’ll see all season, but clearly the taker didn’t realise it was an indirect free kick:
João Pedro scores a stunning free kick for Cagliari, but the referee disallows it! ?
Still a bit of a mystery as to why, but it looks like the ref might have given an indirect free kick without making it clear to the players ??? pic.twitter.com/WFRKxOATAC
— Premier Sports ? (@PremierSportsTV) July 23, 2020
Pictures from beIN Sports
It’s not shown in the clip but it sounds like the indirect free kick was given because of a foul due to a high boot.
The keeper gets nowhere near this and thankfully so from a Lazio point of view, as the goal would’ve stood if he gets a finger to it.