Seeded teams confirmed ahead of UEFA preliminary draw for World Cup 2022

Posted by

Ahead of the UEFA preliminary draw for World Cup 2022, which is taking place virtually on December 7 at 6:00pm CET, UEFA have confirmed their seeded teams following the publication of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking, which lists Belgium as top-seeds in Pot 1.

France, England, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands all join the Red Devils in Pot 1 with the remaining 45 UEFA member associations allocated as follows:

Pot 2: Switzerland, Wales, Poland, Sweden, Austria, Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia and Romania

Pot 3: Russia, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Norway, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, Greece and Finland

Pot 4: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Belarus, Georgia and Luxembourg

Pot 5: Armenia, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Latvia and Andorra

Pot 6: Malta, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar and San Marino

The teams will be allocated to a group in alphabetical order, from Group A to Group J (the first team drawn will be allocated to Group A, the second team to Group B…).

Pot 6 contains just five teams, so these teams will be drawn into the sixth position in groups F to J.

Each team will play the others in their group twice, in a home-and-away format between March and November 2021, and the 10 group winners will qualify directly for the tournament.

The 10 runners-up will contest the play-offs, and they’ll be joined by the two best group winners from the UEFA Nations League that didn’tt qualify directly or didn’t enter the play-offs as runners-up.

These 12 teams will be split into three play-offs, which will be single-leg knockout games in March 2022 to determine the last three European nations to book a place to Qatar.