Obviously the rules are the rules so it doesn’t matter if a keeper is inches or yards off his line, the penalty is going to get retaken.
Fabianski had an early nightmare for West Ham as he fouled Patrick Bamford to concede a penalty, but he immediately became the hero again as he saved the spot kick and all was forgiven…. until VAR stepped in.
You can see that the Polish keeper has slightly strayed from his line so the ref has to order a retake, and Klich doesn’t make a mistake the second time round:
Leeds lead! ??
Klich missed his first penalty but gets to retake after Fabianski was adjudged to be off his line
— Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) December 11, 2020
Pictures from RMC Sport