Leeds United in talks to sign World Cup-winning free-agent

Posted by

Leeds United are interested in signing former Manchester United playmaker Juan Mata.

That’s according to a recent report from AS, who claims director Victor Orta has recently been in contact with the Spanish midfielder’s father, who is also his son’s sporting representative.

Although negotiations are said to be progressing slowly, there does appear to be an eagerness for all parties to reach an agreement.

After opting against renewing his contract with the Red Devils, Mata, 34, is now out of contract and available to join any club in world football on a free transfer.

MORE: Exclusive: Arsenal not out of Lisandro Martinez race despite Man Utd transfer talks scheduled for today

A move to Leeds United may not be welcomed by the United faithful, due to both clubs’ bitter rivalry, but it is understandable why the 2010 World Cup winner may want to stick around in the Premier League.

Last season saw the former Spain international start just two domestic matches so the 34-year-old will probably be determined to prove his worth next season.

Whether or not Orta can convince the Spaniard to make a surprise switch to Elland Road remains to be seen, but it will be interesting to see how both sets of fans react, should a move materialise.

More Stories Juan Mata


  1. Anyone remember a player called Strachan 89-95? Told he’d played his last game for them also ex-international. Signed for Leeds wins league 2 within 3 years first division title beating Utd to the trophy. Then goes to the world cup with Scotland. (League 2 now Championship and first division now Premiership) for all the Snow flakes and anyone else who can’t remember that far back, god it was the 90’s lol. Ask any Leeds fan and they will tell you Strachan is a former Leeds player. If you want another super star then look at Giles 63-75. More upto date Sharpe 96-99. Before anyone moans about him, him and him these moved from them to us.

  2. Why would this bother Leeds Supporters.
    The following all moved.
    Freddie Goonwin 1960
    Johnny Giles 1963
    Brian Greenhoff 1979
    Gordon Strachan 1989
    Lee Sharpe 1996

Comments are closed