Chelsea, Liverpool & Leicester to face Champions League giants in International Champions Cup

Posted by

The eight European clubs competing in the North American tournament of the International Champions Cup have been announced. Chelsea, Liverpool and Leicester City will represent the Premier League and will join La Liga giants Barcelona and Real Madrid, along with Paris Saint-Germain, Bayern Munich and Celtic in the July tournament.

Each team will each participate in three games against predetermined opponents, but with the team claiming the most total points winning the tournament.

Chelsea were the runner-up in the North American tournament in 2013, while Liverpool finished as runner-up in 2014. This year will mark the first appearance for the Foxes in the International Champions Cup.

The ICC also takes place in Australia and China. Tottenham Hotspur will represent the Premier League in Australia and will be in the same tournament as Juventus, Atletico Madrid and A-League outfit Melbourne Victory. Manchester City is the only club currently allotted to play in China.

The schedules for the three Premier League clubs in North America are as follows:

July 23 – Celtic vs. Leicester City (Glasgow, Scotland)

July 27 – Chelsea vs. Liverpool (Pasadena, California)

Real Madrid vs. Chelsea (TBA, USA)

July 30 – AC Milan vs. Liverpool (Santa Clara, California)

July 30 – Paris Saint-Germain vs. Leicester City (Los Angeles, California)

August 3 – Barcelona vs. Leicester City (Stockholm, Sweden)

August 3 – AC Milan vs. Chelsea (Minneapolis, Minnesota)

Liverpool vs Barcelona (TBA, Europe)

Mesut Ozil to ask to leave Arsenal with Spanish giants queuing up to have assist king
Arsenal target to be offered new deal by Serie A giants to kill off interest
Arsenal to reward eye-catching youngster with 1000% pay rise