Menu

(Video) Racing Club vs Deportivo Tachira – Copa Libertadores preview: Already qualified Argentines face already eliminated Venezuelans

Racing Club welcome Deportivo Tachira to Buenos Aires for tonight’s Group 8 clash in the Copa Libertadores.

Time: 5:15pm PDT / 8:15pm EDT / 1:15am BST
Date: Tuesday 14th April 2015
Where: Estadio Presidente Juan Domingo Perón, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Due to the staggered nature of the tournament, Group 8 will be the first group to complete its six fixtures.

Racing Club have already qualified for the knock-out stages; they are currently top of the group with nine points from their five games. Despite their guarenteed presence in the next round, there is still a lot to play for – the Copa Libertadores uses a seeding system to decide the last-16 fixtures, meaning a win should see them get an easier tie next month.

Conversely, Venezuelan side Deportivo Tachira have already been eliminated. They have failed to win any of their five games so far and sit bottom of the group with just three points.

copa-lib-8

The previous fixture between these two ended 5-0 to the Argentines in mid-February. There should be more goals tonight.

SEE MORE
(Video) Club Universitario vs Mineros de Guayana – Copa Libertadores preview: Hosts on the brink of the knock-out stage
(Video) Huracan vs Cruzeiro – Copa Libertadores preview: Brazilian giants need a point to progress
(Video) Cruzeiro beat Mineros to move within touching distance of Copa Libertadores knockout stages

You can see highlights of that game below:

More Stories Deportivo Tachira Racing Club