Menu

Liga MX preview: Santos Laguna vs Chiapas – Both teams hopeful of late playoff push

Santos Laguna and Chiapas will go head-to-head in Mexico on Friday night, with both sides hopeful of putting together a late-season run of good form to propel themselves into the playoffs.

Time: 7:30pm PDT / 10:30pm EDT / 3:30am BST
Date: Friday 10th April 2015
Where: Estadio Corona, Torreon, Mexico

Santos won their last game 1-0 against Morelia thanks to a second half Djaniny goal; it was their first win in seven in the league and left them fourteenth with fifteen points from their twelve games.

Chiapas have also struggled in the Clausura, struggling to replicate their form which saw them finish fifth in the Apertura. They drew their last game 2-2 against Pachuca after a 94th minute goal from Colombian forward Aviles Hurtado salvaged them a point. The result left them eleventh, two points behind Atlas who are in the eighth and final playoff place.

Santos are injury and suspension free, while Chiapas will be without Wilson Tiago and Bruno Pires.

SEE MORE
Liga MX preview: Veracruz vs Morelia – Hosts look to cement post-season place
Liga MX preview: Queretaro vs Club Tijuana – League leaders try to regain form
(Video) Chivas thrash Santos Laguna 4-0 in Liga MX friendly

More Stories Chiapas Santos Laguna