Menu

Liga MX preview: Veracruz vs Morelia – Hosts look to cement post-season place

High-flying Veracruz host the league’s bottom side Morelia on Friday night in the Liga MX.

Time: 6:30pm PDT / 9:30pm EDT / 2:30am BST
Date: Friday 10th April 2015
Where: Estadio Luis de la Fuente, Veracruz, Mexico

Veracruz are going into this game on the back of a 3-1 loss to Tigres UANL in Week 12. Juan Albin scored their goal with a great free kick to make it 2-1 after 36 minutes, but a brace from Rafael Sobis and a third from Joffre Guerron was enough for the hosts to emerge with the three points.

They are currently second, just one point behind leaders Tijuana who also lost last weekend.

Morelia lost 1-0 at home to Santos Laguna in their last match. It was a result that means Morelia have now lost their last four games and sit bottom of the league with six points. They’ve won just one of their twelve games so far this season.

There are just five games left and only six points separate Veracruz from Chiapas in eleventh. With the top eight qualifying for the post-season, it means they cannot afford too many more slip-ups if they want to be involved.

Oscar Mascorro is injured for the hosts, while Fernando Meneses and Edgar Andrade are both doubts. Morelia will be without the suspended Armando Zamorano and the injured Luis Cardozo.

SEE MORE
Liga MX preview: Queretaro vs Club Tijuana – League leaders try to regain form
(Tweet) Morelia Appoint New Boss Roberto Hernandez
Veracruz Owner Uses Private Jet To Rescue Lost Fan

More Stories Morelia Veracruz