Menu

(Video) Sporting Cristal vs Guarani – Copa Libertadores preview: Winners will go through, losers will go home

Sporting Cristal play Guarani in the final game of Group 8 in the Copa Libertadores on Tuesday night, with one of the two sides set to go through to the knock-out stages and the other set to go home.

Time: 5:15pm PDT / 8:15pm EDT / 1:15am BST
Date: Tuesday 14th April 2015
Where: Estadio Alberto Gallardo , Lima, Peru

The Peruvian hosts have the harder of the two tasks; they currently sit third with six points while Guarani are second with eight points. It means a draw would be sufficient for the Paraguayan visitors.

The momentum is also with the Paraguayans – last week they claimed a brilliant 2-0 win over Argentine side Racing Club as Sporting Cristal could only stumble to a 0-0 draw with group whipping boys Deportivo Tachira.

Nonetheless, Cristal will welcome back captain and midfield talisman Carlos Lobaton for this game, meaning striker Irven Avila should start to get some decent supply that has been sorely lacking in recent weeks.

This group has provided the most goals in the tournament so far (32) – it should be a great game.

copa-lib-8

Here are highlights of the previous game between the two, which ended in a 2-2 draw:

SEE MORE
(Video) Racing Club vs Deportivo Tachira – Copa Libertadores preview: Already qualified Argentines face already eliminated Venezuelans
(Video) Club Universitario vs Mineros de Guayana – Copa Libertadores preview: Hosts on the brink of the knock-out stage
(Video) Club Universitario field seven players against Bolivar after rescheduling snub

More Stories Guarani Sporting Cristal