Premier League’s 14 non-Super League clubs release statement on European Super League

Posted by

The 14 Premier League clubs who have not signed up to join the European Super League have released a statement condemning the plans.

It was announced yesterday that Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal and Tottenham would be joining the likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus in forming a new breakaway competition.

MORE: European Super League inside details: Second thoughts, players unhappy and Klopp to turn to fans for unity against FSG

It’s fair to say this move has been met with almost unanimous anger and criticism from almost all angles, with fans of the clubs involved and those not involved all united in hating the idea.

Now the 14 Premier League clubs outside of the big six have made their feelings clear with this official statement below, as tweeted out by Rob Harris…

This comes as Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola has criticised the format of the Super League, and Man Utd forward Marcus Rashford has hinted he’s against the idea with a cryptic tweet.

It’s also been reported that Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson is having an emergency meeting with captains of other Premier League clubs to discuss a response…