Menu

Liga MX preview: Chivas de Guadalajara vs Club Leon – High-flying hosts aim to maintain momentum

Chivas face Club Leon on Sunday evening in Mexico, with the hosts need to win to maintain their recent good form and the visitors looking to end what has been a disastrous season on a positive note.

Time: 3pm PDT / 6pm EDT / 10pm BST
Date: Sunday 12th April 2015
Where: Estadio Omnilife, Guadalajara, Mexico

At the start of the season no thought these two sides would be in the positions which they are; Chivas were one of the favourites for the drop, while Leon were back-to-back Mexican champions less than eight months previously.

Instead, their roles have reversed. Chivas find themselves in third and with a serious chance of getting into the post-season for the first time in almost three years, while Leon have won just three times all season and languish down in seventeenth spot.

Chivas drew 1-1 last weekend in the Clasico against bitter rivals Atlas. They took the lead through veteran Omar Bravo, but were ultimately lucky to escape with all three points after their opponents missed a 95th minute penalty.

Leon lost a stunning game 5-4 at home to Queretaro, despite being level at 3-3 with six minutes to go.

The hosts will be without the suspended Erick Torres and the injured Aldo de Nigris, while Leon have a full squad available.

SEE MORE
(Video) Atlas 1-1 Chivas – Hosts miss 95th minute penalty in Guadalajara derby
(Video) Chivas Player Celebrates Goal Marco Reus Style
Liga MX preview: Leones Negros vs Puebla – Relegation favourites go head-to-head

More Stories Chivas de Guadalajara Club Leon