Cristiano Ronaldo has scored tons of penalties this season, many of them after he’s been fouled in the penalty area. However, he showed at West Ham and then in the Champions League final that he’s not immune to missing from the spot, with Chelsea keeper Petr Cech pawing away his shot to put the Blues in the ascendancy.
However, the Daily Telegraph report that even if the Portuguese forward had scored his spot-kick, it’s likely that referee would have made him take it again due to his stuttering run-up. Is Graham Poll right to assert the below or would Lubos Michel have let the goal stand?
“A stutter on the way to address the ball is unacceptable, but to stop and eyeball the goalkeeper is unsporting.
“I believe 100 per cent that the referee would have forced a re-take if he had scored.”
Hmmm, Ronaldo has taken many penalty kicks in this manner before and he’s never been asked to re-take one. It didn’t seem like a pause midway through his run gave him any advantage – indeed, it backfired on him with Cech standing on his feet and reading the player like a book. Certainly not a very good one.