PFA Young Player of the Year: Nine past winners who show it’s not that accurate, with Arsenal & Liverpool flops

Posted by

With the PFA awards edging nearer, there will be plenty of talk about Tottenham Hotspur star Harry Kane as he looks the favourite to win it – but is it always a sign of success for the future?

Liverpool vs Newcastle United live streaming
Top ten players in the running for PFA Young Player of the Year: Harry Kane joined by Liverpool & Chelsea starlets
Arsenal transfer gossip

Yes, the likes of Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo, Steven Gerrard and Ryan Giggs are among its previous winners, but there have also been some less spectacular players along the way…

1) Nicolas Anelka (Arsenal, 1998/99)

Nicolas Anelka Arsenal

A player who looked incredible as a teenager for Arsenal, Nicolas Anelka did still go on to have a decent Premier League career, though he often struggled for consistency and was more notable for his attitude problems, never truly looking like one who would win the senior version of the prize.

Next Page
Page 1 of 9
Prev Page
More Stories Arsenal FC Aston Villa FC Charlton Athletic FC Chelsea FC jermaine jenas Leeds United FC Liverpool FC Newcastle United FC Nicolas Anelka Tottenham Hotspur FC