Mexico call Vela and Chicharito for summer tournament

Posted by

Mexico boss Miguel Herrera has announced his provisional squad for this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup in the USA.

United States announce provisional Gold Cup squad
Man United set to announce Ilkay Gundogan signing as official betting partner accidentally reveals all
Released Players XI: Arsenal star and Chelsea legend amongst those let go

Mexico will play in both the Gold Cup and the Copa America this summer. With the kickoff of the Gold Cup just three days after the final of the Copa America, they have been forced to call up two completely independent sides.

They have placed more priority on the Gold Cup – they need to make sure they take the title to give themselves a chance of playing in the Confederations Cup in 2017. The winner’s of this year’s competition will face the winners of 2013, the USA, in a playoff.

Here is the provisional squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Luis Michel (Chivas), Moises Munoz (Club America), Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga), Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey)

Defenders: Paul Aguilar (Club America), Oswaldo Alanis (Santos), Yasser Corona (Queretaro), Miguel Herrera (Pachuca), Miguel Layun (Watford), Hiram Mier (Monterrey), Hector Moreno (Espanyol), Fernando Navarro (Leon), Diego Reyes (Porto), Francisco Javier “Maza” Rodríguez (Cruz Azul)

Midfielders: Nestor Calderon (Santos), Jonathan Dos Santos, (Villarreal), Jesus Duenas (Tigres), Andres Guardado (PSV), Erick Gutierrez (Pachuca), Hector Herrera (Porto), Hirving Lozano (Pachuca), Jesus Molina (Santos), Orbelin Pineda (Queretaro), Miguel Ponce (Chivas), Antonio Rios (Toluca), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres), Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon)

Forwards: Jesus “Tecatito” Corona (Twente), Aldo De Nigris (Chivas), Giovani Dos Santos (Villarreal), Carlos Esquivel (Toluca), Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez (Real Madrid), Javier Orozco (Santos), Oribe Peralta (Club America), Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad)

More Stories Mexico