Top 25 Worst Transfer Signings Of The Premier League Era

Posted by

Having looked at the top 25 youngstersoldies, most hated and foreigners we now have a look at the worst transfer deals in the history of the Premier League.

25. Tomas Brolin, Parma to Leeds United, £4.5m, 1995

24. Edin Dzeko, Wolfsburg to Manchester City, £27m, 2011

23. Ade Akinbiyi, Wolves to Leicester, £5.5m, 2000

22. Eric Djemba-Djemba, Nantes to Manchester United, £3.5m, 2003

21. Michael Owen, Real Madrid to Newcastle United, £16m, 2005

20. Alberto Aquilani, Roma to Liverpool, £20m, 2009

19. Stephane Guivarc’h, Auxerre to Newcastle United, £3.5m, 1998

18. Sean Dundee, Karlsruhe to Liverpool, £2m, 1998

17. Bebe, Vitoria de Guimaraes to Manchester United, £7m, 2010

16. Chris Sutton, Blackburn Rovers to Chelsea, £10m, 1999

15. Kleberson, Atletico Paranaense to Manchester United, £6.5m, 2003

14. Per Kroldrup, Udinese to Everton, £5m, 2005

13. Francis Jeffers, Everton to Arsenal, £8m, 2001

12. Juan Sebastian Veron, Lazio to Manchester United, £28.1m, 2001

11. Juan Sebastian Veron, Manchester United to Chelsea, £15m, 2003

10. Ramon Vega, Cagliari to Tottenham Hotspur, £3.5m, 1997

9. Marco Boogers, Sparta Rotterdam to West Ham United, £1m, 1995

8. Sergei Rebrov, Dynamo Kiev to Tottenham Hotspur, £11.5m, 2000

7. Bosko Balaban, Dynamo Zagreb to Aston Villa, £6m, 2001

6. Winston Bogarde, Barcelona to Chelsea, free, 2000

5. Robinho, Real Madrid to Manchester City, £32.5m, 2008

4. Afonso Alves, Heerenveen to Middlesbrough, £12.7m, 2007

3. Massimo Taibi, Venezia to Manchester United, £4.5m 1999

2. Fernando Torres, Liverpool to Chelsea, £50m, 2011

1. Andriy Shevchenko, Milan to Chelsea, £30m, 2006

More Stories Ade Akinbiyi afonso alves Alberto Aquilani Andriy Shevchenko bebe Bosko Balaban Chris Sutton Edin Dzeko English Premier League Eric Djemba-Djemba Fernando Torres Francis Jeffers Juan Sebastian Veron Kleberson Marco Boogers Massimo Taibi Michael Owen Per Kroldrup Ramon Vega robinho Sean Dundee Sergei Rebrov Stephane Guivarc'h Thomas Brolin Winston Bogarde