Former Chelsea Star Amazingly Picked in Provisional Argentina 2014 World Cup Squad Ahead of Carlos Tevez

Posted by

Di Santo pips the Juventus forward to the 30-man squad.

Check in to Argentina vs Bosnia and Herzegovina

The former Manchester City and Manchester United star was being tipped to miss out as head coach Alejandro Sabella does not like the 29 year-old’s attitude.

Amazingly instead of Tevez the ex-Chelsea, Blackburn Rovers and Wigan Athletic striker Franco Di Santo (now at Werder Bremen) has been included, despite only scoring four goals this term.

There are three representatives from the Premier League, all from the Etihad Stadium, in the shape of Sergio Aguero, Martin Demichelis and Pablo Zabaleta.

Here is the squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (AS Monaco), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Agustin Orion (Boca Juniors).

Defenders: Ezequiel Garay (Benfica), Federico Fernández (Napoli), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Marcos Rojo (Sporting Lisbon), José María Basanta (Monterrey), Hugo Campagaro (Inter Milan), Nicolas Otamendi (FC Porto), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City), Gabriel Mercado (River Plate), Lisandro López (Getafe).

Midfielders: Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Ever Banega (Newell’s Old Boys), Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid), Maximiliano Rodriguez (Newell’s Old Boys), Ricardo Alvarez (Inter Milan), Augusto Fernandez (Celta Vigo), Enzo Perez (Benfica), Jose Sosa (Atletico Madrid), Fabián Rinaudo (Catania).

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris Saint-Germain), Rodrigo Palacio (Inter Milan), Franco Di Santo (Werder Bremen).

SEE ALSO: The 50 best players at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil!

More Stories Argentina football AS Monaco Atletico Madrid CF Benfica Boca Juniors Catania Celta Vigo FC Barcelona FC Porto Getafe Inter Milan FC Manchester City FC Monterrey Newell's Old Boys Paris Saint Germain Real Madrid CF River Plate Sporting Lisbon SS Lazio SSC Napoli Werder Bremen