Menu

Liga MX preview: Pachuca vs Pumas UNAM – Visitors seeking fifth consecutive win

Pachuca host Pumas UNAM in Week 13 of the Liga MX on Saturday evening, with Pumas looking to try and secure their fifth consecutive league win.

Time: 6:05pm PDT / 9:05pm EDT / 3:05am BST
Date: Saturday 11th April 2015
Where: Estadio Miguel Hidalgo, Pachuca, Mexico

Before their sensational winning streak started in Week 9, Pumas were in last place in the Liga MX. They had only one once in the first eight weeks of the season, and few thought that just four weeks later they’d have moved up to ninth and be on the cusp of a post-season berth.

Pachuca have endured the opposite. At the season’s mid-way point they were comfortably inside the top eight, but a run of one win in five has seen them slide down to twelfth place.

They drew 2-2 with Chiapas in their last game. Goals from German Cano and Hector Lozano had left them 2-1 ahead in the 94th minute, but a late strike by Chiapas’ Hurtado cost them a valuable two points.

Pumas won 2-0 at home to Leones Negros in their Week 12 tie thanks to two second half goals from Jose Van Rankin and Matias Britos.

Diego de Buen and Jurgen Damm are both doubts for the hosts, while Diego Lopez is doubtful for Pumas.

SEE MORE
(Video) Drama! Last Kick Of Game Sees Pachuca Dumped Out Of CONCACAF Champions League
Liga MX preview: Santos Laguna vs Chiapas – Both teams hopeful of late playoff push
Mexico confirm squad for USA friendly – No place for Real Madrid’s Javier Hernandez

More Stories Pachuca Pumas UNAM