Menu

Liga MX preview: Toluca vs Atlas – Playoffs the prize in end-of-season fight

Atlas travel to Toluca for their Week 13 Liga MX fixture on Sunday morning. Both sides need a win to keep pace with the playoff chasing teams around them.

Time: 10am PDT / 1pm EDT / 6pm BST
Date: Sunday 12th February 2015
Where: Estadio Nemesio Díez, Toluca, Mexico

Both sides go into the match tied on 18 points. With only six points separating third-placed Chivas (21 points) from fourteenth-placed Santos Laguna (15 points) going into the weekend, there is a lot to play for.

Toluca won their last game 1-0 away at Puebla thanks to a 56th minute goal from Jeronimo Amione, while Atlas drew 1-1 in Guadalajara’s ‘Clasico Tapatio’ derby against Chivas, missing a 95th minute penalty that would have given them all three points.

The winners of the game will put themselves in a great place to go on secure a playoff spot, while the losers could find themselves outside the top eight when the dust settles.

Toluca have no injuries or suspensions, but Atlas will give late fitness tests to both Pablo Mascarenas and Luis Caballero.

SEE MORE
(Video) Atlas 1-1 Chivas – Hosts miss 95th minute penalty in Guadalajara derby
(Image) Club Atlas complain about violence-promoting supporter
Famous Brazilian Victory For Atlas In The Copa Libertadores

More Stories Atlas Toluca