Menu

Club Atlas vs Atletico Mineiro – Copa Libertadores preview: Hosts need a win to keep qualification hopes alive

Mexican side Atlas welcome storied Brazilian giants Atletico Mineiro to Guadalajara in the Copa Libertadores on Wednesday evening.

Time: 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT / 2am BST
Date: Wednesday 15th April 2015
Where: Estadio Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico

A win is vital if Atlas are to keep their qualification hopes alive. They currently sit bottom of Group 1 win just three points from four games. Despite their predicament, they are only three points behind the two sides above them – Atletico Mineiro and Colombians Santa Fe – and will take some solace from the fact that their only win came in a 1-0 victory over tonight’s opponents back in late February.

Atletico Mineiro cannot qualify for the last 16 tonight regardless of what happens, but with a tough home tie against current group leaders Colo Colo to come in their game, they will be very keen to take all three points and give themselves a cushion.

copa-lib-1

Here are the highlights of the previous game:

SEE MORE
Liga MX preview: Toluca vs Atlas – Playoffs the prize in end-of-season fight
Copa Libertadores preview: Atlas vs Colo Colo – Mexicans fight for survival as group stage reaches climax
(Video) Atlas 1-1 Chivas – Hosts miss 95th minute penalty in Guadalajara derby

More Stories Atlas Atletico Mineiro