(Video) Dnipro 2-3 Sevilla: La Liga team become first side to retain Europa League

Posted by

Sevilla beat Dnipro 3-2 in the final of the Europa League to become the first side to retain the trophy since it was renamed and organised.

(Video) Arsenal and Manchester United targets show ability with Europa League final goals
Liverpool win the league, Chelsea drop to the Europa League: Top 20 English teams over the last 50 years
Sepp Blatter and UEFA respond to FIFA corruption arrests

The Spanish side didn’t have it all their own way though, with former Blackburn Rovers striker Nikola Kalinic putting their Ukrainian opponents ahead inside the first ten minutes. The goal showed how Dnipro planned to take on the game, sitting deep before striking on the counter attack.

Sevilla took control of possession, and eventually it paid off. Grzegorz Krychowiak with a sharp finish after the ball had bounced around in the penalty area.

Carlos Bacca put them in the lead moments later rounding the keeper to put it away after a brilliant pass from ex-Arsenal favourite Jose Antonio Reyes had split open the Dnipro back line.

However, the Ukrainians weren’t going down without a fight, bravely attempting to keep up the country’s amazing record of having never lost in a European final. Captain Ruslan Rotan stepped up to the plate with this brilliant free kick to draw things equal.

After the that hectic first period the second half was much more standard affair. Sevilla kept possession while Dnipro slowly tired as the encounter wore on. Eventually this took its toll, and Bacca scored his second and what turned out to be the winner in the 72nd minute after a defensive error.

In final stages of the match it looked like Dnipro had put everything in to the match. Worryingly Matheus collapsed on the pitch in the last few minutes, looking like he had suffered a delayed a delayed concussion after taking a blow to the head moments earlier.

Afterwards Dnipro had a few corners to attack in added time, but it wasn’t enough. Sevilla won the competition for the fourth time in the last ten years.

More Stories Dnipro Sevilla