Menu

Video: Suarez lucky not to see red after wild kick at Atletico star

Luis Suarez got both goals for Barcelona as they fought back to come from behind against Atletico Madrid in the Champions league, but the former Liverpool star really shouldn’t have even been on the pitch.

The Uruguayan was involved in two off the ball incidents which arguably should have seen him sent off, but somehow managed to remain on the field.

The first incident was particularly bad, with Suarez very clearly kicking out at Juanfran. It was a certain red card and he was incredibly lucky the incident wasn’t spotted. He could potentially face retrospective punishment, which would be catastrophic for Barcelona.

The second incident was less severe, with Suarez throwing Felipe Luis to the ground by the throat. It was certainly the kind of thing that you’ve seen red cards given for in the past, but equally we regularly see that kind of thing go unpunished in the penalty area.

The fact that Suarez remained on the pitch certainly hit Atletico hard, as he was able to get both goals in the second half to give his side the lead going into the second leg.

It’s only a one goal lead, and with the away goals rule Atletico are far from out of the running. They’ve pinched an all important away goal, which means they only need a 1-0 win at home in the second leg.

SEE MORE:
Barcelona transfer news

We’ll have to wait and see whether Luis Suarez will be involved, but at the very least we know Fernando Torres won’t be playing a part after his sending off this Tuesday night.

More Stories Atletico Madrid Champions League FC Barcelona Luis Suarez