England squad numbers: Promising signs for Tottenham pair, Euro 2016 midfield plans remain a mystery

Roy Hodgson named his final 23 for Euro 2016 on Tuesday, and now the pub debate has changed to what should England’s starting lineup be for their opening Group B game against Russia on June 11.

Do England’s squad numbers for the tournament offer us any clues?

If they are to be used as gauge, then it is good signs for Tottenham Hotspur pair Kyle Walker, who appear to have been given the nod in the full-back spots ahead of Nathaniel Clyne and Ryan Bertrand.

Walker and Rose have been given the No.2 and No.3 shirts respectively – those traditionally worn by first-choice full-backs. Liverpool’s Clyne will wear the No.12 and Southampton’s Bertrand the No. 21.

The central defensive pairing also seems to have been decided, with Chelsea’s Gary Cahill England’s No.5 and Manchester United’s Chris Smalling No. 6, leaving No.16 John Stones out of the picture.

Harry Kane is England’s No.9, suggesting that he will lead the line with captain and No.10 Wayne Rooney in support of some kind. But it is in midfield where Hodgson offers no clues.

Eric Dier, Dele Alli and Jack Wilshere have all been tipped as starters, and yet are outside of the top 11 while James Milner, Raheem Sterling and Adam Lallana are given more prestigious squad numbers.

It is difficult to imagine that England’s midfield against Russia in Marseille will include all three of Milner, Sterling and Lallana, so perhaps Hodgson is throwing a curve ball for his opponents.

We may find out more about Hodgson’s Euro 2016 plans in tomorrow’s friendly versus Portugal.

Graphic: Liverpool Premier League kings of Euro 2016; Chelsea representation shockingly low
Man United prodigy Rashford will not play at Euro 2016, says manager who wanted Hodgson’s job
Missing Euro 2016 XI: Real Madrid trio and Chelsea ace forced to watch from home

More Stories Adam Lallana Chris Smalling Danny Rose Dele Alli Eric Dier Gary Cahill Harry Kane Jack Wilshere James Milner John Stones Kyle Walker nathaniel clyne Raheem Sterling Roy Hodgson Ryan Bertrand Wayne Rooney