Real Madrid Legend Cristiano Ronaldo Wins The Ballon d’Or Again

Thierry Henry announces the award in Zurich.

Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo has once again won the illustrious FIFA Ballon d’Or award, with the former Manchester United man lifting the trophy for the third occasion during his career.

Ronaldo beat off competition from his fierce rival, Barcelona and Argentina’s Lionel Messi, as well as Germany’s World Cup winning goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, to win the award, which comes after an astonishing year of goalscoring form for a player generally regarded as the finest on the planet right now.

Other winners at the awards ceremony in Zurich included Joachim Low, who took home the coach of the year award after guiding Germany to the FIFA World Cup title, and Ronaldo’s Real Madrid teammate James Rodriguez, who won the Puskas award for the best goal scored during 2014.

Eight records Cristiano Ronaldo has broken

More Stories FC Barcelona FC Bayern Munich Real Madrid CF