Did Nacho Monreal go over too easily to win an early penalty?
Manchester City manager Manuel Pellegrini has accused Arsenal left back Nacho Monreal of diving to win a crucial first half penalty in the Gunners’ shock 2-0 win at the Etihad Stadium today, report ESPN, although the Chilean did concede that the “movement” of Vincent Kompany had allowed Monreal the opportunity to go over.
Arsenal took a first half lead when Monreal burst into the box during the first half and went over under a challenge from City captain Kompany, although the actual contact made on the former Malaga man seemed to be minimal – Santi Cazorla was the man who stepped up to beat Joe Hart and ensure his side took the lead at the Etihad Stadium.
The incident was the stand-out controversial moment in a game that Wenger’s dogged Gunners deserved to win but, speaking after the game, former Malaga manager Pellegrini felt that Monreal had dived to win the spot kick:
“The movement of Kompany allows him [Nacho Monreal] to dive. I am not saying it was a bad mistake of the referee. The penalty changed the game, but it was not the reason we lost.”
Pellegrini did also concede that his City side were not good enough throughout the 2-0 defeat, a result that leaves his side five points adrift of Chelsea at the top of the Premier League after two games without a win.