Former United star admits Rooney wasn’t touched, but still backs penalty decision!
Manchester United legend Paul Scholes has defended Wayne Rooney over his diving antics which saw him awarded a penalty against Preston North End in the FA Cup this week.
Happy Valentine’s Day! 9 Photos Of Football Bromance, Including Neville & Scholes Plus Tevez & Maradona Passion
Manchester United Legend Paul Scholes HATES Watching Louis Van Gaal’s Side
Manchester United transfer news
Writing in his column for the Independent, Scholes admitted Rooney was not touched, but that it was still a fair penalty due to the error in judgement made by the Preston goalkeeper.
“When Wayne Rooney saw the Preston North End goalkeeper Thorsten Stuckmann come charging off his line on Monday night there will have been only one thought on his mind: nick the ball past him and take the foul. I did it many times in my career,” Scholes said.
“Football is about exploiting the mistakes of others, and it was clear that Stuckmann had made a major miscalculation by coming out so quickly to a ball he was never likely to reach first. The goalkeeper was reckless but that does not mean Rooney needed to get his leg smashed to prove a point. He got out of the way.
“The rules do not specify that a player needs to be touched for an opponent to commit a reckless act. It was not the most flattering tumble by Rooney but the actions of the goalkeeper meant that it was a penalty.”