Ballon d’Or shortlist announced: Messi and Ronaldo joined by Arsenal and Chelsea stars on 23-man list

The latest Ballon d’Or shortlist has been revealed with just one British player making the cut on only five players featuring in the Premier League rounding the numbers off, the BBC report.

Manchester City trio Sergio Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne and Yaya Toure lead the Premier League charge and are backed up by Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez and Chelsea star Eden Hazard.

However, the only British born player to make the grade is Real Madrid winger Gareth Bale.

The remainder of the list is comprised players from Barcelona, Real Madrid, Juventus, Bayern Munich and Paris Saint Germain.

There are few surprise names on the players’ list, with QPR midfielder Massimo Luongo and Bournemouth winger Christian Atsu, who reportedly made the 59-man longlist, overlooked.

Elsewhere, both Jose Mourinho and Arsene Wenger have made the 10-man Coach of the Year shortlist.

They will find themselves up against Barcelona’s Luis Enrique and Pep Guardiola.

Fifa Ballon d’Or shortlist: Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona), Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire/Manchester City), Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich).

Fifa World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football shortlist: Massimiliano Allegri (Italy/Juventus), Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid), Laurent Blanc (France/Paris Saint-Germain), Unai Emery (Spain/Sevilla FC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Luis Enrique (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Chelsea), Jorge Sampaoli (Argentina/Chilean national team), Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atletico Madrid), Arsene Wenger (France/Arsenal).

Ander Herrera: Man United can beat anyone
Liverpool to challenge Real Madrid in fight for superb £20m rated enforcer
Arsenal to launch £7m January bid for long-term striker target

More Stories Alexis Sanchez Arsene Wenger Cristiano Ronaldo Eden Hazard Jose Mourinho Lionel Messi Sergio Aguero