Arsenal fans won’t like what Iwan Roberts has just said, but he’s so right

Posted by

Who is Iwan Roberts?

Iwan Roberts is a former Norwich City and Wales striker, who also turned out for Watford, Huddersfield, Leicester, Wolves, Gillingham and Cambridge during a respectable, but unspectacular, career.

And he is the man who has just hit the nail on the head when it comes to why Arsenal haven’t won the Premier League since 2004.

Addressing fellow Sky Sports News guest Nigel Winterburn, Roberts said: “You spoke about [Robin] Van Persie and [Cesc] Fabregas leaving the club. They went to clubs to win the league. Van Persie went to United – won the league. Fabregas went to Barcelona to win La Liga [and then the Premier League with Chelsea].

“They’ve had to go from Arsenal to be successful.”

While what Roberts is saying is not a new revelation, it is still very worrying for Gunners, who could be branded a selling club by the harshest of critics.

In addition to Van Persie and Fabregas, Gael Clichy, Kolo Toure and Ashley Cole has all left Arsenal and won the Premier League since their former side were last champions of England.

Furthermore, Alexander Hleb and Thierry Henry won La Liga and the Champions League following their Gunners exits, while Bacary Sagna, who left the Emirates last summer, is 90 minutes away from this season’s European Cup final with Man City.

One small consolation for Gooners must be that Emmanuel Adebayor’s trophy cabinet is still pretty bare!

Despite playing for Monaco, Arsenal, Man City, Real Madrid & Spurs, the 2011 Copa del Rey the only team trophy Emmanuel Adebayor’s has won!

However, the footballing mercenary is likely to be involved in this season’s FA Cup final.

More Stories alexander hleb Ashley Cole Bacary Sagna Cesc Fabregas Emmanuel Adebayor gael clichy Iwan Roberts Kolo Toure Nigel Winterburn Thierry Henry