Serie A: Gazzetta dello Sport Team Of The Season Dominated By Juventus And Roma

Posted by

Average votes across season see surprise inclusion between the posts.

With the Serie A season concluding on Sunday, Juventus were crowned champions for a third consecutive year while Parma clinched European football in dramatic fashion.

Three teams battled it out on the last day of the campaign to secure the final Europa League qualification spot, and after Torino were awarded a late penalty, Alessio Cerci had the chance to seal the win and sixth place for his club.

However, the Italian international missed his spot-kick and coupled with Parma’s win over Livorno, it is Roberto Donadoni’s side who will now advance to the qualifying rounds later this summer.

Meanwhile, Juventus were comfortably crowned Scudetto winners again after accumulating 102 points with 19 wins from 19 homes games, although Roma undoubtedly pushed them harder than many expected.

Rafa Benitez enjoyed a relatively successful first year in charge of Napoli with a third placed finish along with a Coppa Italia triumph, while Fiorentina continued their consistency and will look to build moving forward.

In contrast, it was a disappointing campaign for the Milan giants, with both Milan and Inter struggling to make an impact higher up the table with the former settling for a place in the Europa League.

The Rossoneri were unable to make a late surge to snatch that last spot off Parma, and there are question marks over the future of coach Clarence Seedorf despite only arriving in January.

The Dutchman impressed in terms of the number of points he earned since his appointment, but ultimately the Milan hierarchy expected more with regards to the style of football and a decision is expected to be announced in the coming days.

Nevertheless, La Gazzetta dello Sport have collected all the average votes across the 38 weeks of the campaign to construct their team of the season with a real Juventus feel to the starting XI along with a number of players from the Giallorossi.

GK: Mattia Perin (Genoa)

DF: Stephan Lichtsteiner (Juventus)
DF: Mehdi Benatia (AS Roma)
DF: Andrea Barzagli (Juventus)
DF: Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

MF: Miralem Pjanic (AS Roma)
MF: Paul Pogba (Juventus)
MF: Kevin Strootman (AS Roma)

ST: Giuseppe Rossi (Fiorentina)
ST: Luca Toni (Hellas Verona)
ST: Carlos Tevez (Juventus)

More Stories ACF Fiorentina AS Roma Juventus FC