How did the referee let this crazy goal stand?
Feyenoord scored a bizarre goal straight from a throw-in in this week’s Europa League, with the referee surely to blame for missing the flight of the ball as it bounced in?
In fairness, the Standard Liege goalkeeper does not cover himself in glory either as the ball glides in without any real power behind it, but from where the referee was positioned it shouldn’t have been too complicated to watch out for any contact in the penalty area.
Added to that, linesmen and officials behind the goal could surely have spotted it as well, which raises questions yet again about the need for more technology in the game. If goals like this are allowed to stand, then is the current standard of officiating good enough at the top level?
Still, this makes for amusing viewing, so see blow as Feyenoord throw the ball into the net and get awarded a goal.
Sven van Beek was credited with the goal, but we’re not sure anyone got a touch on Miguel Nelom’s throw in.
Watch for yourself below:
SEE MORE: Hot Pictures! Newly Single Kelly Brook In All Her Glory After David McIntosh Split.