Menu

United States vs Mexico preview: CONCACAF giants build towards summer challenges

The United States vs Mexico is becoming an almost annual event, but this game takes on extra significance given that it’s now less than three months to the Copa America and the Gold Cup.

Time: 6:30pm PDT / 9:30pm EDT / 2:30am BST
Date: Wednesday 15th April 2015
Where: Alamodome, San Antonio, United States

Mexico face a gruelling summer. They are under immense pressure to win the Gold Cup and force a Confederations Cup play-off against 2013’s winners the US, while the nation also expects to see a strong performance in the Copa America – a tournament they participate in as invitees.

Given that the Copa America final and the Gold Cup opener are just three days apart, Mexico are being forced to use two entirely different squads in the two competitions. It is thought they will send their stronger side to the Gold Cup, meaning the eleven that take to the field in this friendly will be more akin to the Copa America side.

Both sides have been unable to use their European stars with the game falling outside official FIFA international dates, but the US team will be closer to their full strength side as they have fewer players playing outside their domestic league.

Mexico have not beaten the US in their last five games (four draws and a loss) – a run that stretches back to the summer of 2011 – but with this almost being a home game thanks to a huge Mexican population in Texas, this could be the match that breaks the streak.

SEE MORE
Pulido sex scandal will not affect his position with Mexico national team
Mexico dealt blow after ex-Manchester City striker denied US visa ahead of tonight’s friendly
(Images) USA vs Mexico friendly will go ahead – but the pitch is awful

More Stories Mexico United States