Most expensive Arsenal signings: Lucas Perez, Shkodran Mustafi both among top 10 Gunners buys in terms of transfer fees

Posted by

Saturday August 27 was a good day for Arsenal fans.

The Gunners recorded their first win of the season by overpowering Watford at Vicarage Road, before Arsene Wenger all but confirmed that Lucas Perez and Shkodran Mustafi were joining his squad.

Speaking to the official Arsenal website after his side’s 3-1 win over the Hornets, Wenger said: “I think they should go through, both of them. They had medicals. We have to finish the paperwork and I don’t know exactly when we will announce it but look, I think it could be announced at the beginning of the week.”

According to Sky Sports, Arsenal will pay Deportivo La Coruna a transfer fee of £17.1m, while Mustafi will be bought from Valencia for £35m.

The London Evening Standard published a list of the top 10 most expensive Arsenal signings ever earlier this week.

Using the figures provided by Standard Sport, coupled with the new info from Sky, we have compiled an updated list of the 10 all-time most expensive Arsenal signings.

As you can see below, Mustafi is set to become the joint-second biggest but, while Perez should take sixth place.

These two signings will push Sylvain Wiltord (£13m) and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (£12m) out of the top 10.

READ MORE: Unhappy Daniel Sturridge pining for Arsenal move as Liverpool consider selling another player to a direct rival

New list of all-time most expensive Arsenal signings

1. Mesut Ozil – £42.5m

=2. Alexis Sanchez – £35m

=2. Shkodran Mustafi – £35m

4. Granit Xhaka – £34m

5. Jose Antonio Reyes – £17.4m

6. Lucas Perez – £17.1m

7. Andrey Arshavin – £16.95m

8. Santi Cazorla – £16.5m

9. Calum Chambers – £16m

10. Danny Welbeck – £16m

Champions League draw
Stats don’t lie as incoming Arsenal destroys current Gunners star
Spanish football expert labels 17-goal forward a ‘top signing’ for Arsenal as Gunners miss out on €55m top target

More Stories Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain Alexis Sanchez Andrey Arshavin Arsene Wenger calum chambers Danny Welbeck Granit Xhaka jose antonio reyes Lucas Perez Mesut Ozil Santi Cazorla Shkodran Mustafi Sylvain Wiltord