Menu

(Video) Did Ron Vlaar Score His Penalty After All!?!

Video emerges seeming to show Ron Vlaar’s penalty against Argentina spin backwards and into the net.

Much of the discussion around The Netherlands’ penalty shoot-out defeat to Argentina in their World Cup semi-final seemed to centre around why Ron Vlaar was given the crucial first penalty which, of course, he missed.

Video evidence filmed from the crowd seems to show that Vlaar may, in fact, have scored his penalty, however – with the ball spinning backwards and potentially over the line after being ‘saved’ by Sergio Romero, without either the goalkeeper, the referee or Vlaar noticing.

This leaves one question on everyone’s lips – is there goalline technology in a penalty shoot-out!?!

SEE ALSO: The Top 50 Best players at the 2014 World CupFinals

More Stories Argentina football Netherlands football