Menu

Copa Libertadores preview: Tigres UANL vs River Plate – Argentines on the brink of elimination

Mexican side Tigres UANL could deliver a decisive blow to River Plate’s Copa Libertadores ambitions with a win in their Group 6 tie on Wednesday night.

Time: 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT / 2am BST
Date: Wednesday 8th April 2015
Where: Estadio Universitario, Monterrey, Mexico

Tigres have already qualified for the knockout stages with two games to spare, having amassed ten points from their four matches so far. River Plate on on the brink of elimination after taking just three points.

River Plate might find some respite in Tigres’ team selection. With qualification assured, and with a vital Liga MX game against Cruz Azul at the weekend, there is a strong possibility that boss Tuca Ferretti will opt to use his fringe players and reserves. However, given this is a game that fans have been looking forward to for weeks, he might also feel he has no choice but to field a strong eleven.

A win for River Plate would leave them joint second. They play Santa Fe at home in their final match.

You can see the current standings below:

copa-lib-group-6

SEE MORE
Tigres UANL and Boca Juniors fight for Brazilian star
River Plate win the Supercopa Euroamericana after 1-0 win over Sevilla
(Video) CONMEBOL suspend River Plate manager after referee insult

More Stories River Plate Tigres UANL