Menu

Liga MX preview: Monterrey vs Club America – Rayados boss faces his former club

Monterrey’s manager Antonio ‘Turco’ Mohamed will face old side Club America for the first time since he left the club as a champion in December when the two giants play each other on Saturday night.

Time: 5pm PDT / 8pm EDT / 2am BST
Date: Saturday 11th April 2015
Where: Estadio Estadio Tecnologico, Monterrey, Mexico

Turco’s Club America side beat Monterrey’s cross-city rivals Tigres UANL 3-1 on aggregate in the final of the 2014 Apertura.

He left the club in the aftermath of the victory after a spat with the board of directors, taking the Monterrey job in mid-February.

When Mohamed took over, Rayados were 17th in the table. Since then he has won four of his six league games in charge and guided them up to tenth, and they now sit just two points behind Atlas who occupy the eighth and final post-season spot.

America are in fourth place, with Wednesday night’s sensational 6-0 CONCACAF Champions League semi-final seemingly proof that their mid-season wobbles are behind them.

Monterrey will be without Darvin Chavez, while Guillermo Madrigal and Marcelo Gracia are both doubts. America have a full squad to choose from.

SEE MORE
(Video) Club America 6 (6)-(3) 0 Herediano CONCACAF Champions League semi-final highlights: Incredible turnaround as four-goal Benedetto sends hosts to the final
(Video) Club America’s Paolo Goltz has 6-game ban reduced by CONCACAF
(Video) Top 5 goals from Week 12 in Liga MX: Monterrey and Tijuana strikes top billing

More Stories Club America Monterrey