DC United’s Bill Hamid Wins MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Award

Posted by

Bill Hamid is just the third player under the age of 25 to win the award.

Hamid beat the well regarded and award favourite Nick Rimaldo back into second place, causing controversy among fans.

Liverpool Looking To Tempt Brazilian To Anfield With £125k-A-Week Contract
Liverpool Manager Brendan Rodgers’ Ironic All-Time Premier League XI – Not Including Division’s ‘Best Ever Player’
Liverpool Linked With Shock Move For Arsenal Outcast Who Can’t Get A Game

He took home 97 votes compared to Real Salt Lake’s Rimaldo, who got 88 votes. Third place, with 25 votes, with to Columbus Crew’s Steve Clark. Jaime Penedo from LA Galaxy was fourth with 15.

The only players younger than Hamid to win the award are US national team regulars Tim Howard (22 in 2001) and Brad Guzan (23 in 2007).

The full list of award winners is:

2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel– Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn

More Stories Columbus Crew DC United LA Galaxy Real Salt Lake